Posted on

Happy Birthday to Me

October 11, 1941

Hi there everyone. Since this is my first blog post I thought it would be cool to tell you my story. My name is Harumi Akiyama and I am currently 18 years old. I was born here in California in the United States, but both my parents are from Japan. My father came from a wealthy family and my mother from a family of farmers. My grandfather on my mother’s side arranged with my grandfather on my father’s side that their oldest children were to be married. At that time, my father was 19 and my mother 14. They were married on June 14, 1907. Almost immediately after their marriage, my father decided to come to the United States to find work and land to eventually bring his wife to the “Land of the Free.” After four years in the US, my father decided he had enough money and land to bring my mother over from Japan. The following year, their first child, my oldest brother, Yuki, was born. Five years later, my other brother, Shiro, was born. Then, five years after that, on November 27, 1922, I was born. So that’s my story, I’ll be back soon. Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

